The Feast of the Seven Fishes

The Feast of the Seven Fishes

La Vigilia

La Vigilia is the night Italians and Italian-Americans celebrate Christmas Eve with “The Feast of the Seven Fishes“. It is one of Italy’s most celebrated traditions which began as a southern Italian custom and grew in popularity through other regions of Italy. This tradition is now currently celebrated by Italians throughout the world.

On this special night while waiting for the birth of baby Jesus at midnight, we feast on a seven fish dishes. Some say they represent the seven days in the week other state that they represent the seven sacraments. Some families prepare three fish dishes which represents the three wise men others prepare thirteen which represents the twelve apostles plus Jesus. All these things depend on the individual families tradition but all agree that fish is the only dish to be served. Along with a nice antipasti at the beginning and plenty of desserts at the end..

There are no requirements as to what types of fish are served. Traditionally baccala must be on the menu. The other dishes can be left to your imagination. Here I will give you some simple traditional fish recipes that you can prepare to carry on this great Italian tradition. Enjoy!

Tuna with Tuscan Beans click here for recipe

Snails in Marinara click here for recipe

Tuscan Salmon click here for recipe

Shrimp Scampi click here for recipe

Sauted Halibut click here for recipe

Baccala Soup click here for recipe

Seafood Salad – Insalata di Mare click here for recipe


This site contains product affiliate links. We may receive a commission if you make a purchase after clicking on one of these links.